Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited book coverUninvited

Sophie Jordan

Genre: Dystopia, Young Adult

Publication Date: January 28, 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen

Source: Received from HarperTeen for review.

Synopsis: The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. Continue reading

Review: Killer Frost (Mythos Academy #6) by Jennifer Estep

Killer Frost by Jennifer EstepKiller Frost

Jennifer Estep

Genre: Mythology, Young Adult

Publication Date: February 25, 2014

Publisher: Kensington Books

Source: Received by Kensington Books for review.

Synopsis: I’ve battled the Reapers of Chaos before–and survived. But this time I have a Bad, Bad Feeling it’s going to be a fight to the death … most likely mine.

Yeah, I’ve got my psychometry magic, my talking sword, Vic–and even the most dangerous Spartan on campus at my side, in Logan freaking Quinn, but I’m no match for Loki, the evil Norse god of chaos. I may be Nike’s Champion, but at heart, I’m still just Gwen Frost, that weird Gypsy girl everyone at school loves to gossip about.

Then someone I love is put in more danger than ever before, and something inside me snaps. This time, Loki and his Reapers are going down for good … or I am. Continue reading

Review: Ink (Paper Gods #1) by Amanda Sun

Ink by Amanda SunInk

Amanda Sun

Genre: Mythology, Young Adult

Publication Date: June 25, 2013

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Source: Own the ebook on my Kindle.

Synopsis: On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she can barely hold a pair of chopsticks, and she can’t seem to get the hang of taking her shoes off whenever she enters a building.

Then there’s gorgeous but aloof Tomohiro, star of the school’s kendo team. How did he really get the scar on his arm? Katie isn’t prepared for the answer. But when she sees the things he draws start moving, there’s no denying the truth: Tomo has a connection to the ancient gods of Japan, and being near Katie is causing his abilities to spiral out of control. If the wrong people notice, they’ll both be targets.

Katie never wanted to move to Japan—now she may not make it out of the country alive. Continue reading

Review: Fates (Fates #1) by Lanie Bross

Fates by Lanie BrossFates

Lanie Bross

Genre: Mythology, Young Adult

Publication Date: February 11. 2014

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Source: Received from Random House Children’s for review.

Synopsis: One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people’s fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again–this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in? Continue reading

Mini Review: Bloodmark (Bloodmark Saga #1) by Aurora Whittet

Bloodmark book coverBloodmark

Aurora Whittet

Genre: Paranormal Romance, YA

Publication Date: November 1, 2013

Publisher: Wise Ink Creative Publishing

Source: Received from Aurora Whittet for review.

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old werewolf princess Ashling Boru is different from other wolves—she was able to shift to wolf form at birth. Rather than bringing pride to her family, it brings fear, and as a result, she is forced to live in seclusion in Ireland’s countryside. Ashling’s reputation is further blackened when she refuses her betrothed and defies the ancient laws. When her pack’s oldest rivals begin hunting her, she finds herself in the small town of York Harbor, Maine—far from everything she’s ever known.

In Maine, she crosses paths with the dark and rebellious Grey Donavan, and something ignites within her soul. There’s just one problem: Grey is human. Their instant connection turns into a passionate romance, and Ashling begins to believe she can create her own life outside of wolf laws. When she begins to uncover long-buried pack secrets—secrets that threaten to destroy all she holds dear—Ashling’s courage and tenacity are tested. Will she choose her deep and enduring love for Grey, or will she follow Old Mother’s path to her destiny? Continue reading

Review: The Memory of After (The Memory Chronicles #1) by Lenore Appelhans

The Memory of After book coverThe Memory of After

Lenore Appelhans

Genre: Supernatural, Young Adult

Publication Date: September 3, 2013

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Source: Received from Lenore Appelhans for review.

Synopsis: Since her untimely death the day before her eighteenth birthday, Felicia Ward has been trapped in Level 2, a stark white afterlife located between our world and the next. Along with her fellow drones, Felicia passes the endless hours reliving memories of her time on Earth and mourning what she’s lost-family, friends, and Neil, the boy she loved.

Then a girl in a neighboring chamber is found dead, and nobody but Felicia recalls that she existed in the first place. When Julian-a dangerously charming guy Felicia knew in life-comes to offer Felicia a way out, Felicia learns the truth: If she joins the rebellion to overthrow the Morati, the angel guardians of Level 2, she can be with Neil again. Continue reading

Review: Racing Savannah (Hundred Oaks #4) by Miranda Kenneally

Racing Savannah book coverRacing Savannah

Miranda Kenneally

Genre: Contemporary Romance, YA

Publication Date: December 3, 2013

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Source: Own the ebook on my Kindle.

Synopsis: They’re from two different worlds.

He lives in the estate house, and she spends most of her time in the stables helping her father train horses. In fact, Savannah has always been much more comfortable around horses than boys. Especially boys like Jack Goodwin—cocky, popular and completely out of her league. She knows the rules: no mixing between the staff and the Goodwin family. But Jack has no such boundaries.

With her dream of becoming a horse jockey, Savannah isn’t exactly one to follow the rules either. She’s not going to let someone tell her a girl isn’t tough enough to race. Sure, it’s dangerous. Then again, so is dating Jack… Continue reading