Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited book coverUninvited

Sophie Jordan

Genre: Dystopia, Young Adult

Publication Date: January 28, 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen

Source: Received from HarperTeen for review.

Synopsis: The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave #1) by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave book coverThe 5th Wave

Rick Yancey

Genre: Dystopia, Young Adult

Publication Date: May 7, 2013

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Source: Own the ebook on my Kindle.

Synopsis: After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Continue reading

“My Tweets are Divergent”

As I said before, I recently watched Divergent, and think that it is a great movie in all aspects. However, I don’t recall going into much detail about anything other than Theo James aka Tobias Eaton in my last post. However, I remember that while I stayed up watching the movie in the early hours before school, I tweeted almost every thought I had while watching the movie. Continue reading