This Blog Has Moved To…

Hey everyone! Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, but I’ve been busy working on a new blog! The reason I decided to move away from WordPress is because the lack of HTML and CSS editing just really got on my nerves. I want to provide quality content for you guys, not force you to click on links that take you from one page to another. I don’t have any co-authors with me this time because the new blog, Time Turning Reads, will be focused more on books, though of course there will be TV shows and even movie reviews. And the design is…interesting to say the least. If you’d like to check out the site, just visit http://www.timeturningreads.blogspot.com. I hope to see you there!

Note: This site will not be deleted. All content shall remain for your perusal.

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday (#1) –> Other Types of Stories!!

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. They’re fond of lists over there, and so came up with the brilliant idea to post Top Ten Lists prompts ever week. So what I’ll be doing here is…making a list! Note: my list is not written in any particular order.

This week’s prompt: Let’s talk about other types of stories! Top Ten Favorite Movies or TV Shows! (can break it down to top ten favorite romance movies or comedy shows etc. etc.) Continue reading

Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited book coverUninvited

Sophie Jordan

Genre: Dystopia, Young Adult

Publication Date: January 28, 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen

Source: Received from HarperTeen for review.

Synopsis: The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. Continue reading

Review: Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Love Letters to the DeadLove Letters to the Dead

Ava Dellaira

Genre: Contemporary Romance, YA

Publication Date: April 1, 2014

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Source: Received from Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) for review.

Synopsis: It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more; though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was; lovely and amazing and deeply flawed; can she begin to discover her own path. Continue reading

Mini Review: The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner's CurseThe Winner’s Curse

Marie Rutkoski

Genre: 

Publication Date: March 4, 2014

Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux

Source: A copy was provided by Macmillan for review.

Synopsis: Winning what you want may cost you everything you love.

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, ‘The Winner’s Curse’ by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart. Continue reading

Review: Killer Frost (Mythos Academy #6) by Jennifer Estep

Killer Frost by Jennifer EstepKiller Frost

Jennifer Estep

Genre: Mythology, Young Adult

Publication Date: February 25, 2014

Publisher: Kensington Books

Source: Received by Kensington Books for review.

Synopsis: I’ve battled the Reapers of Chaos before–and survived. But this time I have a Bad, Bad Feeling it’s going to be a fight to the death … most likely mine.

Yeah, I’ve got my psychometry magic, my talking sword, Vic–and even the most dangerous Spartan on campus at my side, in Logan freaking Quinn, but I’m no match for Loki, the evil Norse god of chaos. I may be Nike’s Champion, but at heart, I’m still just Gwen Frost, that weird Gypsy girl everyone at school loves to gossip about.

Then someone I love is put in more danger than ever before, and something inside me snaps. This time, Loki and his Reapers are going down for good … or I am. Continue reading

Review: Ink (Paper Gods #1) by Amanda Sun

Ink by Amanda SunInk

Amanda Sun

Genre: Mythology, Young Adult

Publication Date: June 25, 2013

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Source: Own the ebook on my Kindle.

Synopsis: On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she can barely hold a pair of chopsticks, and she can’t seem to get the hang of taking her shoes off whenever she enters a building.

Then there’s gorgeous but aloof Tomohiro, star of the school’s kendo team. How did he really get the scar on his arm? Katie isn’t prepared for the answer. But when she sees the things he draws start moving, there’s no denying the truth: Tomo has a connection to the ancient gods of Japan, and being near Katie is causing his abilities to spiral out of control. If the wrong people notice, they’ll both be targets.

Katie never wanted to move to Japan—now she may not make it out of the country alive. Continue reading