‘The Fault in Our Stars’ is Overhyped

If you’re a teenager out in the world that’s heavily influenced by today’s media – including books and movies – then you’ve likely heard of TFIOS, that is ‘The Fault in Our Stars’, written by John Green. If you’re a book nerd like me, then it’s probably even more likely that you read the book just to see what the hype was about. My guess? After reading the book you fell in love, and probably cried at least 3 times throughout the book. Based on what others are saying, you probably had a whole crying jag through the end. And now that there’s a movie being released on June 6 of this year, you and all your friends are daydreaming about Ansel Elgort, posting quotes and scenes from TFIOS, and just dying for the day you get to walk into the nearest movie theater, purchase a ticket, and prepare to cry and laugh your heart out with Hazel and Augustus. 000

As great as that sounds, that person isn’t me. If anything, I didn’t care for the hype of this book, and wanted to skip the reading experience entirely. As a person who tends to learn more toward fantasy than contemporary romance, I stayed as physically far from the novel as possible. It was just my luck though that I have a future lawyer as my best friend, one who happened to be completely in love with TFIOS, and way before there was expected to be a movie, I might add. As a great friend, I had no choice but to accept her logical and persuasive arguments, and proceeded to procure the book onto my Kindle. It didn’t take me too long to get through the novel, not because I particularly enjoyed the romance (though I did adore the witty comments scattered throughout the pages), but because there was something so very different about the characters and the writing that had me coming back until the very end. So yes, I was a bit surprised and impressed by Augustus and the author, but unlike other girls, I didn’t fall in love. Soon after, I shared my comments with my friends – who didn’t seem too happy with my thoughts – and as the days passed by, ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ was but a distant memory in my head.

When talk about TFIOS was finally calming down, the announcement that there was going to be a movie hit the stands and the hype started all over again. Add to that the news that Ansel was casted as Augustus, and the whole fangirling world went crazy. And then there was me, calmly looking through Instagram posts containing movie scenes and book quotes, wondering whether or not the film would actually be worth watching. Even now I’m kind of doubtful about the movie; I feel like it will be paced too slowly for my liking. After watching Shailene in Divergent though, I think I’ll give TFIOS a try. And besides, if I end up not liking the film, at least I can criticize it at the end.

So what’s the point of me telling everyone I’m not crazy about Augustus and Hazel besides to earn the wrath of every true fangirl and fanboy? Really just to prove a point, the point that maybe I’m not the only one who didn’t love the book. Maybe I’m not the only person who thinks ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ has been hyped up too much. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love it if the movie defies my expectations and is better than I and anyone else could have hoped for. But just think. What if it’s a huge disappointment (though it seems unlikely with the two superb actors playing the beloved main characters)? The book didn’t make me cry, and if the movie doesn’t either, then I’ll know it wasn’t great. After all, as me and my friends like to say, “it’s only good if it instills emotion.” Still, even if the movie is great,  I have a feeling my prejudice about the hype will keep me from loving it the way everybody else already seems to.

One thought on “‘The Fault in Our Stars’ is Overhyped

  1. Pingback: The Fault In Our Stars: The Movie | Swimming Through Thoughts

Leave a Reply

